Dateology Coach Newsletter
Nuggets Podcast
FTG: Guy Best Friend Who Uses You For Free Therapy & Sex Edition
3
0:00
-18:08

FTG: Guy Best Friend Who Uses You For Free Therapy & Sex Edition

He's not your best friend. He's a guy who knows you have feelings for him and exploits that to his advantage when he's low on options.
3

Nugget #1

I lost my job 4 months ago and EI doesn’t cover my full living expenses. I had to buy a car since mine had 330,000 km on it and the engine issue was worth fixing. After that I had couple thousand saved and that has been completely wiped out and now I’m not able to cover all my expenses. I asked my gf to help cover my expenses and she has refused because I didn’t propose before this. We had been dating for 3 years and moved in for 2.

Nugget #2

I need some advice… I have this friend, we met through friends six years ago, and right from the beginning we just clicked; same humour, same interests, but also very different in both age and communication style. We’ve been travelling and doing so many different things together.

Yes we have had sex occasionally, but we are in no means meant to be, and it’s a year since last time. He is extremely flaky, I can’t count how many girlfriends he had the past years - I’m the true opposite, but must admit that I’m always a bit jealous of all these girls. He has been the best friend I ever had, actually I have been overwhelmed with meeting someone this late in life that means so much to me. It feels like very close family.

However, the past half year a lot has changed - we speak on the phone almost every day, but we never meet anymore - and not because of me, I have been suggesting to meet at least 10 times the past half year. It has taken me a while to realise what has happened, but I still don’t understand why I’m not good enough to be with irl. I have of course also stopped suggesting to meet. I think our friendship is lost, maybe we only hang in because of habit and the safety of “having someone”. He still expresses that I am his best friend, but in my opinion that doesn’t mean a lot, when it’s not shown.

Send your dating questions to hello@dateologycoach.com and follow us on Instagram, TikTok, and YouTube for more free content.

Become a Substack subscriber for $5 a month and get two Nugget episodes on Mondays and Wednesdays and one full-length episode on Fridays.

Instagram https://instagram.com/dateologypod & https://instagram.com/dateologypod

TikTok https://www.tiktok.com/@dateologycoach

Youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCL5iTMQHvcH8YwDw6JLk2ew

Discussion about this podcast

Dateology Coach Newsletter
Nuggets Podcast
Delicious easy to digest nuggets of dating wisdom.